## Dave Barthelmy

MSA-Announce@lists.minsocam.org on behalf of J Alex Speer [j a speer@minsocam.org] From:

Sent: Thursday, October 02, 2008 01:10 PM

To: MSA-Announce List Subject: Oct 2008 Am Min online

Dear MSA Member.

[1] The Oct 2008 (v. 93 n. 10) American Mineralogist is online. This issue contains a set of papers on "Amorphous Materials: Properties, Structure, and Durability"

If your institution subscribes to GeoScienceWorld (GSW) go to:

<a href="http://ammin.geoscienceworld.org/">http://ammin.geoscienceworld.org/</a>

If you have a personal subscription to the journal through MSA, and want to access the journal on GeoScienceWorld (GSW), go to:

<a href="http://gswaccess.minsocam.org/Geoscienceworld.html">http://gswaccess.minsocam.org/Geoscienceworld.html</a>

\*\*\* NEW URL, change your bookmark!!

or see it on the MSA website at:

< http://www.minsocam.org/MSA/AmMin/TOC/2008/Oct08.html>

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

[2] Results of the 2008 election - the new President of the Society is Nancy L. Ross, new Vice President is John B. Brady, and the new Treasurer is Darrell J. Henry. Mickey Gunter, Secretary, remains in office. The new Councilors are Marc M. Hirschmann and Penelope L. King. They join continuing councilors Jean Morrison, Klaus Mezger, Peter C. Burns and Carol D. Frost.

Article XI. Amendments Section 3 states that any amendment shall become effective when approved by a simple majority of the members voting, except that any amendment of Article III, Membership, shall require a two-thirds affirmative vote of those voting. By this criteria the Filling Vacancies measure passed, whereas the Life Member dues change did not pass.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

[3] Going to the 2008 Joint Meeting in Houston, Texas? On Tuesday, 7 October:

MSA Awards Lunch == 12:30-02:30 p.m. The Roebling Medal will be presented to Bernard W. Evans (Donna Whitney, Citationist) and the MSA Award to James Badro (Ho-kwang "Dave" Mao, citationist). The 2007-2008 MSA Distinguished Lecturer's will also be recognized: Lukas P. Baumgartner, Daniele Cherniak, and Steven Jacobsen. Lanier Grand Ballroom G of the Hilton Americas Houston Hotel

Roebling Medal Lecture == 3 pm, Bernard Evans will speak on "Two examples of element-exchange equilibria in petrology". Room 371E of the George R. Brown Convention Center (GRB)

MSA Presidential Address == 4 pm by Peter Heaney giving his titled "Making Crystallography Dynamic: Real-Time Studies of Mineral-Fluid Reactions using X-ray Diffraction". Room 371E of the George R. Brown Convention Center (GRB)

MSA Business Meeting == 5:00-5:30 pm. Room 371E of the George R. Brown Convention Center (GRB)

MSA/GS Joint Reception == 5:30 to 7:30 pm. Hilton - Lanier Grand Ballroom A. It is a ticketed event, and may be purchased at the door.

[4] Interested in gem materials? The 2009 Gemological Research Conference, 21-23 August 2009 now has a website for information, abstract submission, and registration.

======= end of message ============